Ranji Trophy not to be held for the first time in 87 years | Best Defence Coaching

Ranji Trophy not to be held for the first time in 87 years

Taking a major decision, the Cricket Board of India (BCCI) has decided not to hold the Ranji Trophy this year. This will be the first time in the history of 87 years when the first-class domestic tournament Ranji Trophy will not be held.

The BCCI has decided to hold the Vijay Hazare Trophy after the Syed Mushtaq Ali tournament. The BCCI has decided that it is not possible to organize the Ranji Trophy this time. Board Secretary Jai Shah gave this information in a letter to the state units.

Some time ago, former India opener and domestic veteran Wasim Jaffer said that Vijay Hazare, Duleep and Deodhar Trophy should be cancelled in this season in view of the COVID-19 (COVID-19) epidemic and instead of that time. BCCI has decided that only the Vijay Hazare Trophy will be held in this season.

Apart from Vijay Hazare Trophy, BCCI will also organize Women’s Senior ODI Trophy and Vinoo Mankad ODI Trophy in Under-19 cricket. BCCI Secretary Jay Shah has written in his letter to the state associations that this decision has been taken in view of the feedback received from the state associations and the danger of coronavirus.