Exam Notification 2024


Types of awards in Indian Armed forces

Our defence forces serves our country as ‘Bharat Rakshak’. Our soldiers shows bravery in the wars and protect us . For their extraordinary bravery and courage and for the services during war and time. There are different types of award presented to the soldiers of defence forces


There are following types of award

  • Gallantry award
  • Service and Campaign award
  • Long Service awards

Gallantry award 

  • It is also divided in two categories
    • War-time gallantry awards
    • Peacetime gallantry awards

War time Gallantry awards:-  There are three types of gallantry awards

  • Param Vir Chakra :- It is the India’s highest gallantry award.. It is granted to the “most conspicuous bravery in the presence of enemy”. Till 2018 this awards 21 times in which 20 from Indian army and 1 from Indian Airforce
  • Mahavir Chakra:- It is the second highest gallantry award after Param Vir Chakra . It is all granted to the “most conspicuous bravery in the presence of enemy” whether in land, at sea or in the air.
  • Vir Chakra:- It is an Indian Third highest gallantry award for the act of bravery in battlefield.

Peace time Gallantry Award:- There are three types of awards

  • Ashok Chakra:- It is the India’s highest peace time gallantry award equivalent to Param Vir Chakra. It is for the “most conspicuous bravery or some daring or pre-eminent valour or self-sacrifice” other than enemy. It may be awarded either to military or civilian.
  • Kirti Chakra:-  It is award to the bravery and courage self sacrifice other than battlefield. it is a peace time award equivalent to Mahavir Chakra
  • Shaurya Chakra:- It is also awarded for the bravery and self sacrifice and not in battle  direct to enemy. It is third after Ashok Chakra and Kirti Chakra equivalent to Vir Chakra.

Wartime distinguish service medals: – There are three services medals.

  • Sarvottam Yudh Medal
  • Uttam Yudh Medal
  • Yudh Seva Medal

These are given to all the three forces. This awarded to all ranks of all forces including Territorial Army reserves Nursing etc.

Peacetime distinguish service medals:-They have also three types of medals.

  • Param Vishisht Seva Medal
  • Ati Vishisht Seva Medal
  • Vishisht seva medal

These are also given to all three forces.  This award is given for the distinguished services of the most exceptional order.

Distinguish services and Gallantry Medals

  • SenaMedal :- This medal is presented only to the Indian Army members for  “for such individual acts of exceptional devotion to duty or courage as have special significance for the Army.”
  • Nausena Medal:- This medal is awarded only for the Indian Navy members for their services and devotion in their duty
  • Yavusena Medal:- This medal is awarded for the Indian Air force members for their services and devoted duty  in peacetime.

Service and Campaign Award

Some medals are given to the members for their duty and campaign like Wound medal ., General service Medal, Samanya  seva Medal, Samar Seva Star , Poorvi Star, Paschimi Star, Operation Vijay Star, Siachen Glacier Medal,Raksha Medal , Sangram Medal, OP Vijay Medal, Op Parakram medal , Sainya Seva Medal , Videsh Seva Medal , Meritorious Service Medaletc. These all award are given for the service during the war and places.

Long Services Award

These are awarded in Independence day by Chief of Staff who have served minimum 15 years combatant and non- combatant in Navy or Army or Airforce by Good Conduct.


Call Now
Notice: ob_end_flush(): failed to send buffer of zlib output compression (0) in /home/trishlldefenceac/public_html/blog/wp-includes/functions.php on line 5420

Notice: ob_end_flush(): failed to send buffer of zlib output compression (0) in /home/trishlldefenceac/public_html/blog/wp-content/plugins/really-simple-ssl/class-mixed-content-fixer.php on line 107